Southington Education Foundation Board Meeting April 28, 2009 Minutes

Members in attendance:

George Costanzo, Kelley Maccione, Bill Lutz, Ron Marut, Dawn Miceli, Dave Monti, Beth Pestillo, Tony Sheffy, Jerry Belanger, Joannie Conlon, Christine Connolly, Kimberly DiFusco, Deb Hackerman, Michael Sarzen, Bonnie Sica

Anthony Sheffy opened the meeting at 7:00

Corporation Formation:

- The Executive board has decided to pursue non-profit status.
- Members had expressed concern about controlling money raised through the foundation while in partnership with the Community Foundation of Greater New Britain.

Bylaws:

- Tony Sheffy crafted a draft of the bylaws and handed out to board members for review.
- Sections of the bylaws still need to be added.
- In order to establish continuity, the initial directors shall have the following limited terms:

Three years:	George Costanzo Alan DeBisschop Anthony Alan Sheffy
Two years:	Kelley Maccione Dawn Miceli Beth Pestillo
One year:	Bill Lutz David Monti

- Officers were selected by the executive board and will each serve a one year term.
- The current officers are:

Chairman	Anthony Alan Sheffy
Vice-Chairman	Bill Lutz
Secretary	Beth Pestillo
Treasurer	Alan DeBisschop

Ron Marut

- The board will hold its annual meeting in May.
- The Board at Large will meet quarterly.
- Dawn Miceli spoke to the board about leading by example. Executive Board members have agreed to make a monetary donation of \$250. It is suggested that all Board at Large members make a contribution as well. An amount of \$100 is suggested however, no contribution is too small or great.

Committees:

- Committees have been established and chairpersons selected. There is still a need for more volunteers on some committees. All board members are encouraged to participate on a committee.
- The current committees and their members are:

Gifts and Grants	Chairperson:	George Costanza Victoria Triano Kimberly DiFusco Bonnie Sica
Fundraising	Chairpersons:	Kelley Maccione and Joannie Conlan Liz Francis Carolyn Makles Linda Barmore Jodie Martoccio Tammy Dominello Deb Hackerman
PR/Marketing	Chairperson:	Dawn Miceli Michael Sarzen Diann Thomson
Research	Chairpersons:	Alan DeBisschop and David Monti Bonnie Sica Patricia Queen Diann Thomson Chris Connolly

Website

- Jerry Belanger spoke about developing the website. Among the things to decide upon before he starts are the domain name and web hosting. Jerry has kindly offered to purchase both of these as a donation to the foundation for one to three years. Other areas to consider are the foundation's logo and website design. Jerry will be working with Executive board members to get the website up and running.
- Members present were encouraged to meet with their committees prior to the next executive board meeting

Next meeting for the Executive Board is May 26th at 7:00 Board at Large members will be notified via e-mail of the next quarterly meeting.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:50

Respectfully Submitted,

Beth Pestillo